Complete novice and advice sought

For the discussion of liveaboard specific topics.

Moderator: Jeff

FSDSMAN
YF Newbie

Complete novice and advice sought

Post by FSDSMAN »

Now you will all think me totally mad and foolhardy but I have a dream.
Due to recent developments and a marriage that has amicably come to an end after 30 years (mutual and not aggressive decision) and indeed are still friends if that is possible I find myself in a position to live a dream.
I wish to purchase a sailing yacht, live aboard (most of the time) and have some freedom to do local and extended cruises as and when money and time denote. I have read numerous forums, posts advice on this but found this site and "Jeff's" blogs’ an insight and helpful diary of what to expect. I cannot simply disjoint myself from shore life and responsibilities for financial reasons and need to work however I am self employed in the IT support role and manage most of my clients remotely with occasional site visits so I am quite flexible as to where I can work etc and probably could obtain a serviced office to conduct my work ashore within a clients premises as they owe me big time.
OK MY DREAM.
I think I would need a yacht of around 37-42 feet for comfort and also a salon head clearance (I am 6ft 2ins when I wake up but shrink about half an inch during the day) of around 1.94 meters and above headroom.
Yacht types etc is not what this post is about as we all have preferences in make, type etc but I will still listen to advice - just might not take it.
I think my budget on a yacht would be in the region of 30 - 42 thousand and also i would put aside and pay for a marina birth for a year in advance out of separate funds and required maintenance, upgrades etc.
Now the real advice I require: