Complete Nump... Novice

Have a natter in here about anything you like. Witty, serious, interesting, inspirational - anything goes. Just like your own yacht club bar - but electronic! :)

Moderator: Jeff

Marc1t
YF Newbie

Complete Nump... Novice

Post by Marc1t »

Hi to all.
This is my first post.
To all you experienced yachtmasters or daysailors :- I am one of those people wondering up & down the quay bag of chips in hand in admiration of all the expensive yachts wondering what that rope does, what that thingy does, & wondering what its really like to circumnavigate the world in something so small. At least compared to the vast oceans of this world.
Now let me first say, My knowledge of sailing a yacht at the moment is NIL. Yes I am a complete novice!!
Having recently had a windfall I have just bought a yacht at the cost of £88,000 & will be sailing to Brazil in a few days & was hoping some of you could tell me what to do. :D
Admit it had you going there for a minute didn't I? But seriously, I have reached a point ware I am more secure & have the time to actually start sailing. Stay with me I'm serious about this bit :)
I am thinking seriously about buying a small 25ftish trailer yacht in the future in which to learn in.
Might sound like a giant leap for a complete novice? & it probably is, so I'm not going to jump into the sea feet first so to speak, but I am a 'know what I want' kind of person & I have hatched a plan.
I'm a licenced aircraft engineer by trade & lucky enough to work for a company with a yacht club owning 2 Beneteau Oceanis 37 yachts & is a recognised RYA training centre with access to training courses & exams right up to Ocean Yachtmaster. at a greatly reduced price compared to other organisations & what you lot had to pay Ha Ha!! & have made enquiries in this direction.
So my masterplan:-
1. Join the yacht club at work.
2. Gain some experience in sailing a yacht. & train towards RYA qualifications